Kamakura Hiking Trails: Daibutsu, Tenen and Gion-yama Courses, Times and Which One to Walk (2026)
Kamakura sits in a bowl of low, wooded hills, and the city keeps three marked trails along the ridges. None of them is a mountain climb. The highest point on the longest one is 159 m. They're still real dirt paths, with roots, steps cut into rock and mud after rain, so they're not a stroll in sandals either.
If you walk only one, make it the Daibutsu course. It's the short one, the official guide calls it a beginners' course, and it drops you at the Great Buddha, which you'd want to see anyway. The Tenen course is the one for people who came to hike: twice as long, along the ridge behind Kenchoji temple.
The three courses side by side
| Daibutsu course | Tenen course | Gion-yama course | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Official name | Kuzuharaoka-Daibutsu | Tenen | Gion-yama |
| Start → end | JR Kita-Kamakura Sta. → Enoden Hase Sta. | JR Kita-Kamakura Sta. → near Zuisenji | see the official course page |
| Distance | about 3 km | about 5.5 km | not published |
| Walking time | about 1 h 30 min | 2 h 05 min (sections added up) | not published |
| Level (official) | beginners | not stated | not stated |
| Fees on the trail | none; Great Buddha ¥300 if you go in | Kenchoji ¥500 if you start through it | none |
| Status | open | open | reopened 1 April 2023 |
Gion-yama was badly damaged by typhoons No. 15 and No. 19 in 2019. Landslides and fallen trees kept it shut for more than three years. The city still warns about falling rocks near the Toshoji ruins on that course.
Daibutsu course: Kita-Kamakura to the Great Buddha
The route: JR Kita-Kamakura Station → Jochiji → Kuzuharaoka Shrine → Genjiyama Park → Kotoku-in (the Great Buddha) → Enoden Hase Station. About 3 km and about 1 hour 30 minutes of walking.
The trail starts on the path beside Jochiji, one of Kamakura's five great Zen temples. You don't have to go into the temple to use the trail. If you do, it's ¥300 for adults and ¥100 for junior high and younger, 9:00 to 16:30.
Genjiyama Park has the statue of Minamoto no Yoritomo, the man who founded the Kamakura shogunate. The tourist association suggests it as a lunch stop, and it's the natural halfway point. Two side trips start near here: Zeniarai Benten, the shrine where people wash coins in spring water, and Sasuke Inari, a hillside shrine with a tunnel of red gates. Both add walking that's not in the 1 h 30 min.
At the end, the trail comes down to Kotoku-in. Adults pay ¥300 (¥150 for elementary school children), and stepping inside the hollow statue costs ¥50 more. The temple is open 8:00 to 17:00 from October to March (17:30 April to September), with last entry 15 minutes before closing. If you'd rather keep walking, a fork near the end goes to the Daibutsu Kiridoshi, an old pass cut through the rock, instead of down to the Buddha.
From Hase Station, the Enoden takes you to Kamakura Station or on to Enoshima. Hasedera is on the way, about 10 minutes on foot from the Great Buddha.
Which direction? The official route runs north to south. We'd keep it that way. You start at Kita-Kamakura in the morning while the temples there are quiet, and you finish next to the Great Buddha and the Enoden, so the rest of the day flows on to Hase, the beach or Enoshima.
Tenen course: the ridge walk
This is the long one: about 5.5 km from Kita-Kamakura round the ridge to the Zuisenji end. The official course map gives the minutes for each section:
| Section | Minutes | Running total |
|---|---|---|
| Kita-Kamakura Sta. → Kenchoji | 15 | 0:15 |
| Kenchoji → Hansobo (through the temple grounds) | 20 | 0:35 |
| Hansobo → Katsuagaken | 10 | 0:45 |
| Katsuagaken → Juoiwa (a lookout) | 5 | 0:50 |
| Juoiwa → Ohirayama (159 m) | 25 | 1:15 |
| Ohirayama → Tenen | 15 | 1:30 |
| Tenen → Kaibuki Jizo | 15 | 1:45 |
| Kaibuki Jizo → Zuisenji entrance | 20 | 2:05 |
So it's just over 2 hours of walking before you add any breaks. Ohirayama is the highest point on the course, and from Juoiwa on you're mostly walking along the top of the ridge.
The Kenchoji gate and the free way in
The usual start goes through Kenchoji: you walk up through the temple grounds to Hansobo, the shrine at the back, where the trail begins. Since that's inside the temple, you pay the ¥500 entrance fee (¥200 for children), and Kenchoji is open 8:30 to 16:30.
The official map shows a second way up that skips the temple: Kita-Kamakura Station → Imaizumidai residential entrance (20 min) → Hansobo (10 min). That's 30 minutes against 35 through Kenchoji, and it's free. The catch is that you miss Kenchoji itself, with its gate, halls and garden on the way up. Our call: go through Kenchoji if you'll be there between 8:30 and about 15:30, so you have time to look round. Starting later, take the Imaizumidai entrance.
Kenchoji has announced free admission on 24 October 2026.
Getting back from the Zuisenji end
The trail comes down near Zuisenji. From the Zuisenji entrance it's about 15 minutes on foot to Kamakuragu shrine. From there, Keikyu buses for Kamakura Station leave from the Daitonomiya stop (the end of the line, about 15 minutes to the station). Or keep walking: the Hokokuji bamboo garden is in the same part of town, and the temple fees calculator has its price and hours.
You can also walk the course the other way, starting from Kamakura Station by bus. We'd still start at Kita-Kamakura, for the same reason as the Daibutsu course: the end puts you closer to buses and to central Kamakura.
Before you go: what the city asks
These are the city's own notes on all three trails, with what they mean for a day trip:
- Shoes. The paths are natural mountain trail, slippery in places with steep ups and downs. Walking shoes with grip, not city sneakers with smooth soles.
- Rain. After rain the trails get muddy and very slippery. If it rained hard the day before, we'd skip the Tenen course and walk the town instead.
- Hornets. They're active from summer into autumn, so in October they're still about. Don't swat at them, and step back slowly if one hovers.
- No bikes, no fires, no races. Trail runners are asked to slow down and give way when passing.
- Rubbish. Carry everything home. The city asks hikers not to leave any on the paths or next to the houses along them.
- Injuries on the courses are your own responsibility, so travel insurance matters here.
The city's tourism division (0467-61-3884) handles closures. After a big typhoon, check the course pages below before you set out.
Fitting a hike into a Kamakura day
The Daibutsu course fits into the classic day without much trouble. Start at Kita-Kamakura with Engakuji (¥500, a minute from the station), walk the trail, see the Great Buddha and Hasedera, and ride the Enoden from Hase. That covers what most people come to see, with the walk between the sights done on a ridge instead of a road. Our Kamakura day trip itinerary has the rest of the times and fares.
If you'll ride the Enoden more than a couple of times after the walk, see whether the Enoden 1-day pass pays. Kita-Kamakura is on the JR Yokosuka Line, one stop before Kamakura, so the Enoshima-Kamakura Freepass doesn't cover the train to the trailhead.
Guided walks PR
- Kamakura hiking tours on Viator a guide who knows which paths are open that week
- Kamakura tours on Klook walking tours and day trips from Tokyo
Affiliate links: booking through them supports this site at no extra cost. Prices on partner sites may differ from the official prices on this page.
Frequently asked questions
Are the Kamakura hiking trails open now?
Yes, as of 2026-10-13 the city lists all three official courses (Daibutsu, Tenen and Gion-yama) as walkable. Gion-yama reopened on 1 April 2023 after the 2019 typhoons. The city warns of falling rocks near the Toshoji ruins on that course.
Do I have to pay to walk the Tenen course?
Only if you start through Kenchoji, which costs ¥500 for adults and closes at 16:30. The Imaizumidai residential entrance near Kita-Kamakura Station leads to the same trail for free.
Can I walk the trails with young children?
The Daibutsu course is rated for beginners by the city, and it's about 3 km. Steps, roots and mud make it hard going with a stroller, so carry small children or leave the stroller at your hotel.
Official sources (checked 2026-10-13)
- Kamakura City Tourist Association, Kuzuharaoka-Daibutsu course (route, about 3 km, about 1 h 30 min, beginners): https://www.trip-kamakura.com/model_course/detail.php?id=45
- Tenen course (course map with section minutes, about 5.5 km, entrances and buses): https://www.trip-kamakura.com/model_course/detail.php?id=46
- Gion-yama course (reopened 1 April 2023, rockfall near the Toshoji ruins, city safety notes and contact): https://www.trip-kamakura.com/model_course/detail.php?id=44
- Kotoku-in, the Great Buddha (fees, hours): https://kotoku-in.jp/en/
- Kenchoji (fees, hours, free day on 24 October 2026): https://www.kenchoji.com/access/
- Jochiji (fees, hours): https://jochiji.com/
- Engakuji (fees, access): https://www.engakuji.or.jp/access/
More for your trip
- Hakone Freepass calculator: single tickets vs the pass for your Hakone rides
- Enoshima & Kamakura calculator: single tickets vs Noriorikun vs Freepass
- Japan tax-free refund calculator: the new system from 1 Nov 2026
- Yokohama day trip cost calculator: single tickets vs the Minatomirai, JR and Tokyu passes
- Mt. Takao day trip cost calculator: single tickets vs the Mt. Takao Ticket
- Kawagoe day trip cost calculator: Kawagoe Discount Pass vs Koedo Kawagoe Coupon
- Mt. Oyama day trip cost calculator: Tanzawa-Oyama Freepass A vs B vs single tickets
- Odawara day trip cost calculator: Odakyu vs Romancecar vs JR vs Shinkansen, plus Odawara Castle tickets
- Misaki Maguro Kippu calculator: does the Keikyu tuna ticket pay off for your trip
- Kamakura temple entrance fees calculator: Great Buddha, Hasedera, Hokokuji, Engakuji and Kenchoji for your group
- Enoshima island tickets calculator: escar, Sea Candle, Iwaya Caves and aquarium: single tickets vs the 1day and Area Passport
- Yokohama Cosmo World tickets calculator: ride prices and the cheapest discount ticket for your group
- Yokohama Anpanman Children's Museum tickets calculator: price by date, family total, sale date and cancellation fee
- Hako Ticket calculator: unlimited entry to 20 Hakone hot springs and museums: does it pay off for your plan
- Hakone Yunessun tickets calculator: price by date, Passport vs Mori no Yu, rentals and tattoo rules
- Hakone museums tickets calculator: Pola, Okada, Open-Air, Glass Forest and more: Freepass discounts and your group total
- Sagamiko Illumillion tickets calculator: winter lights: price by date, night free pass and the JR + bus route from Shinjuku
- Hakone Kamakura Pass calculator: one 3-day pass for both areas vs two Freepasses vs single tickets
- Hakone day trip from Tokyo: cost and route: three budgets and the loop in order
- Hakone Freepass: the break-even math
- Kamakura and Enoshima day trip: cost: which pass to buy
- Kamakura day trip itinerary: one-day route with Enoshima, closing times and cost
- Hakone or Kamakura? Day trip compared: cost, time, closing times and a 3-question chart
- Yokohama day trip with kids: family train cost: child fares and the cheapest ticket for a family
- Yokohama day trip itinerary: one-day route, opening hours and cost
- Hakone day trip itinerary: the one-day loop in order, ride times and the last boat
- Mt. Takao day trip itinerary: which trail, official hiking times and the last cable car
- Hakone Romancecar tickets: price, how to book, observation seats and luggage
- Hakone day-use onsen: prices, hours and tattoo rules for a hot spring on a day trip
- Hakone luggage: storage and hotel delivery: drop times, prices and lockers for a suitcase in Hakone
- Kawagoe day trip itinerary: one-day route in loop-bus order, bus times, opening hours and cost
- Hakone pirate ship tickets: Lake Ashi cruise prices, which ticket is cheapest and the timetable
- Hakone Open-Air Museum tickets: counter vs online vs Freepass price, hours and access
- Hakone Shrine: hours, access and fees: bus or pirate ship to Moto-Hakone-ko, Treasure Hall and goshuin prices, Kuzuryu Shrine and Hakone Motomiya
- Hakone Gora Park tickets: ¥650 or free with the Freepass, hours, the cheaper cable car stop and Craft House prices
- Hakone Ropeway tickets and Owakudani: flat fare, hours, which pass, black eggs and the guided nature trail
- Cup Noodles Museum Yokohama tickets: admission, make your own cup noodle, Chicken Ramen Factory booking and hours
- Hakone Tozan Railway tickets: fares for every station, the 1-day pass, IC cards and last trains
- Enoshima Aquarium tickets calculator: price, pass discounts, the Odakyu set ticket from Shinjuku and dolphin show times
- Hakkeijima Sea Paradise tickets: aquarium and ride passes, which one to buy and the cheap Keikyu ticket from Tokyo
- Yokohama Air Cabin tickets: ropeway prices, the Ferris wheel set ticket, hours and closing days
- Yokohama Sea Bass ferry: water bus fares between the four piers, which boats skip Red Brick, and boat vs train
- Sankeien Garden tickets: entrance fee, hours, every bus route and the Minato Burari discount
- Enoden 1-day pass (Noriorikun): price, every Enoden fare, where to buy and six day plans with the math
- Yokohama Marine Tower tickets: day and night prices, the 1-day pass, closing days and the Landmark Sky Garden closure
- Shin-Yokohama Ramen Museum tickets: entrance fee, ¥750 mini bowls at every shop, payment rules and the subway from Yokohama
- Kirin Brewery Yokohama tour: ¥1,000 from Oct 2026, when booking opens, the tasting, drinking rules and the walk from Namamugi
- Hakone bus guide: route letters, which buses take the Freepass, fares and how to pay
- Shinjuku to Hakone highway bus: ¥2,560 to Lake Ashi with no change: every stop and fare, booking in English and bus vs Romancecar
- Zoorasia (Yokohama Zoo) tickets: ¥800 adults, kids free on Saturdays, Tuesday closing, the bus from each station and Zoorasia vs Ueno Zoo
- Fujiko F. Fujio Museum (Doraemon Museum) tickets: price, when online sales open, the 60-minute entry rule and the shuttle bus from Noborito